

## **QSRF Annual Report 2011-2012**

The 2011-2012 financial year saw the second annual ClearThinking Cube Event in October. To raise the profile of youth mental health, the ClearThinking Cube was placed on top of 20 cubic metres of scaffolding. Ten volunteers spend 10 hours together in the Cube in the lead up to World Mental Health Day.

The 2012 Australian of the Year, Patrick McGorry and Ian Hickie, Director NSW's leading youth mental health centre, and Tony Stevenson, CEO Mental Illness Fellowship of Queensland, were interviewed in the cube and supported the call for a new youth mental health research centre being located in Queensland.

The event was also supported and attended by Lexy Hamilton-Smith, Senior Journalist for Network Ten. Lexy's involvement saw live coverage into the Channel Ten News bulletin early and late in the same bulletin. Several radio interviews were also conducted.

The ClearThinking Cube awareness campaign resulted in considerable public interest, expanding our support base for the establishment of Queensland's first dedicated Research Centre for Youth Mental Health.

2011 came to a close with an end of year celebration to show thanks to our sponsors and volunteers. This was an enjoyable and important event, to celebrate the progress that has been made and look to the exciting prospects of the future.

On Friday 1<sup>st</sup> June 2012, ClearThinking and UQ Centre for Clinical Research hosted a morning tea to give supporters an update on the latest youth mental health and schizophrenia research. The Order of Saint John of Jerusalem continued their support of ClearThinking by generously presenting a cheque for \$10,000 towards a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Youth Mental Health.

An important development this financial year was The Bryan Youth Mental Health Scholarship. This will be funded as part of a major grant of \$30,000 per annum for 3 years from The Bryan Foundation. The topic of the scholarship is designing brief interventions and assessing their impact.

None of these achievements could have been possible without our many supporters and sponsors, who we thank sincerely.



We wish to acknowledge the hard work of our QSRF Advisory Committee, presently constituted by:

- Ms Kaye Adman
- Ms Louise Bellchambers
- Ms Sue Cameron
- Dr Vibeke Catts
- Dr Michael Daubney
- Dr Peter Riddles
- Ms Margaret (Meg) Scott
- Ms Susan de Waard

We also thank our Development Officer, Ms Linda Cupitt and Administrative Assistant Rowena Pereira who organised the ClearThinking Cube 2011 and Development Officer Kerri Walters who organised the Donor Morning Tea event. Finally, we thank Honorary QSRF Treasurer Vibeke Catts, and Mr Vince Knauth and Ms Rachel McBride who keep our financial records in order.

We would also like to thank and farewell staff members who have moved on this year including Linda Cupitt, Harriet Devlin and Rowena Pereira.